Sitka High music director John DePalatis used the occasion to announce that five of his students had been selected for this year’s All-Northwest Band, an unprecedented number. Trombonists George Jones, Cooper Gale, and TJ Agne made the band, along with trumpeter Leland Shennett and vocalist Hannah Palof.

All-Northwest convenes every two years with musicians from Alaska, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, and Wyoming. The most players Sitka has ever sent in the past has been three.

The next opportunity to hear Sitka High musicians perform will be on New Year’s Eve, beginning at 930 PM at Harrigan Centennial Hall. Raven Radio plans to broadcast the Winter Concert in its entirety sometime over the coming holidays. Air times to be announced.
© Copyright 1970, Raven Radio Foundation Inc.