Front Street in Angoon. (Emily Russell/KCAW Photo)

Communities throughout Southeast took part in the democratic process Tuesday night (10-5-21), with citizens voting for Mayor, City Council and School Board members. As  Kake, Pelican, Tenakee Springs, and Port Alexander wrapped up their municipal elections,  KCAW’s Tash Kimmell was able to get some of those results. 

It was a six-way race for three open seats on the Pelican City Council.  Jamison Mork scored one of those seats with 24 votes followed closely by Jim Slader, who earned  19 votes, and Nathaniel Barker with 17 votes. 

In the race for school board, Phillip Spencer won seat number 1 with 22 votes. Raven Hanson received 32 votes for seat number 3. KCAW is seeking clarification on the results for seat number five, with nine write-in candidates vying for the chair.

The Mayor of Pelican resigned this year leaving the seat vacant, and Patricia Phillips was the only candidate to file for the position. While she was challenged by six write-in candidates, she was the clear winner with 19 votes. 

[Web: Overall 37 ballots were submitted in Pelican’s election and one absentee ballot.] 

In Port Alexander, seven city council seats were up for grabs, with 26 people running in the all write-in election. Tom Corso garnered the most votes with 21 , Ryan Martin and Sarah Partick tied with 17 votes, Debra Gifford received 16 votes, Cory Gifford and Bud Durdle both received 15 votes and Laura Pollard snagged the last seat with 14 votes. 

[web: In total 26 ballots were submitted, and there was 1 question ballot.]

In Kake, Lloyd David narrowly won the race for mayor with 62 votes, surpassing Delbert Kadake by just 2 votes. Monica Ashenfelter and Paulette Jackson both won second terms on the City Council with 82, and 90 votes, respectively. 

In the School Board race, Isabel Mills and Stuart Mach also snagged second terms with 79 votes going to Mills and 96 to Mach. 

In Tenakee Springs, two City Council seats were up for grabs . Both were won by incumbents with little opposition. 

Jeffrey T. Collins snagged one seat with 33 votes, followed closely by Craig Mapes with 30 votes. With 27 absentee ballots and 1 question, the results will not be finalized until next Tuesday’s assembly meeting. 

According to post on the City of Angoons’s facebook page  the community’s municipal election has been postponed until Tuesday November 2. KCAW has reached out to city officials for more information on the postponement.  The announcement comes in tandem with confirmation of seven new coronavirus cases in the community, and the closure of the city office to the public.