

Yaakwdáat Latínx'i Coalition Yakutat. Alaska 99689

yakutatshareholdercoalition@gmail.com

PRESS RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – 9th May 2023

YAAKWDÁAT LATÍNX'I COALITION FILES COMPLAINT AGAINST YAK-TAT KWAAN, INCORPORATED

YAKUTAT, Alaska, May 9, 2023 – The Yaakwdáat Latínx'i (Stewards of Yakutat) Coalition announced today that they have filed a case against Yak-Tat Kwaan Inc., an ANCSA village corporation in Yakutat Alaska.

Yak-tat Kwaan, Inc., has not held an election for its 500+ shareholders in over two years, resulting in a majority of board directors contributing to decisions while serving expired terms. Additionally, the board has failed to meet regulatory requirements for providing prior years financial statements including audits. Shareholders of Yakutat's village corporation are pursuing litigation to uphold State and Federal law – with the goal of securing both a fair election and legally required financial statements.

The Coalition additionally filed for a *Lis Pendens*, a doctrine that seeks to enjoin unauthorized disposition of corporate real estate by the persons purporting to be acting as officers and directors of the corporation.

"The Yak-tat Kwaan has had many opportunities to provide financial statements and audits to the Shareholders over the last two years," says Amanda Bremner, Coalition co-chair and plaintiff. "It would be irresponsible of the Shareholders to continue to allow the gross mismanagement of our corporation and our most important asset – our Ancestral Homelands."

The case was filed today, May 9, 2023 at 4:02 PM in Anchorage, Alaska.

About Yaakwdáat Latínx'i Coalition: Our mission is to empower our village corporation by promoting Indigenous values and principles of responsible and ethical leadership, to ensure it operates at its highest potential. Our Guiding Principle is the knowledge that we are only the caretakers of our Ancestral Homelands, Culture and Traditions. These things belong to the ones who will come after us.

###

www.yaakwdaatcoalition.com
Amanda Bremner, Co-chair
Jay Stevens, Co-chair