Widmark earned 177 votes to Tom Gamble’s 174. Gamble, currently on the council, will not be returning in the next term.

Neither will Clara Gray or Michael Baines. Baines was on the ballot for re-election and earned 187 votes. STA General Manager Lisa Gassman says Gray did not file for a spot on the ballot, but later decided to run as a write-in candidate. She earned 77 votes.

The four open seats on the council will go to Tanya Bonorden, Stephanie Edenshaw, Michael Miller, and incumbent Rachel Moreno.

The council results are as follows:
• Tanya Bonorden – 242 votes
• Stephanie Edenshaw – 226 votes
• Michael Miller – 194 votes
• Rachel Moreno – 192 votes.

The election results are scheduled to be certified during the next Tribal Council meeting on Nov. 17. The winners will be sworn into office on Nov. 20, at a reception in the Sheet’ka Kwaan Naa Kahídi Community House, following the Native American Heritage Month parade. Their two-year terms begin officially on Dec. 1.
© Copyright 1970, Raven Radio Foundation Inc.