Before handing over a certificate, teachers shared stories about how each of these students made their schools a better place. (Emily Kwong/KCAW photo)

For 15 years, Blatchley Middle School has been commemorating Martin Luther King Jr. Day. In years past, there have been speeches and parades. This year, in partnership with AmeriCorps, the staff invited teachers to nominate one or two students from each grade who demonstrated a commitment to community, fellowship, and public service. These 30 students were recognized in a ceremony (1-19-15) at Blatchley Middle School.

First row (l to r): Ariana Strickland-Neal, Jessica Christner, Alliya Tabilisma, Violet Harrison, Nai’a Nelson, Jordan Carlos
Second row (l to r): Carson Grant, Makai Saline, David Davis, Alexander Smith, Sabrina Michael, and Mildred Nanouk
Third row (l to r): Allison Winger, Skylar Wright, Kashfia Nahreen, Deborah Yearwood, Joanna Davis, Avery Voron, Brayden Massey-Jones, Tamija Woods, Lauren Havens, Breanna Stewart, Lauren Brown, Esther Kennedy, and Sierra Schauer.
Fourth row (l to r): Misha Bekerids, Jack Peterson, Michael Boose, Owen Fulton, Noah Galarza, Joey Dubie, Willie Drake, Joseph Wilson, Ana Shugak, Monica Ague, and Margot O’Connell.

Honorees not pictured: Lexie Kennedy, Mikey Parsley, Justice Lysons, and Dominique Smith.